The New Beginning, The New Stage of Life

Hello… It’s been mmmm… half a year since my last post on my blog?

Hahahaha… what an unproductive blogger I am. So sorry. (Who cares anyway? :))

So here I am…

I ‘ve decided to start posting another writing of mine or blogging. This post is likely inspired by my birthday this year, 2012.

Yeah, I’m 22 years old now. It was on 13rd January exactly. Actually, birthday is not my favorite thing since I entered my 20 years of life. I used to be a very excited young kid that waiting for congratulations regards that would be given to me from people, asking my parents for birthday present, celebrating with my family, with friends, full of joy. Yeah, but it was when I was a boy.

Since my 20th birthday, I began to think that I’m getting old, birthday isn’t fun anymore. There are lot of reasons if you ask me why. But this is the main reason for the idea I dislike my own birthday. As we grow older, there are changes that we have to face in our life. Everything’s changing, everybody’s changing, and it goes the same way to me. We gain something, but we lose another thing at the same time. I’m so grateful for having the opportunity to be so alive until now, the spirit of birthday. But actually I also have to realize that it means that my life span is getting narrower. Get it? But who knows about death anyway. It’s  a mystery.

Well, I know that I don’t have to wait for my birthday to think about all things that changing as a process of life. But for me, personally, birthday is the symbolic day for changing. A new stage of life. It’s the symbolic day to think about what our next step of our own life is. It is indeed exciting to have a new thing, a new phase. But it’s also sad to think that it means that I have to move on from my ‘previous’ life.

Every hello has goodbye. And ‘goodbye’ is not my favorite word. I wish I can say ‘see you in another chance’.

I know that in the end, we’ll end up as individual person though we live as a social creature. I only ask that the best persons hanging around, the best persons in my inner circle of life, won’t step out and leave me as life goes on. It’s not about physical thing, but it’s more to the heart and mind relationship.

Lot of kid ask to grow up faster, but in the same time, lot of men ask to go back become children. It’s like John Mayer quote from his song titled ‘Stop This Train’. The quote is:

“Stop this train, I wanna get off and go home again, I can’t take the speed it’s moving in. I know I can’t, but honestly, we’ll never stop this train”

What about me?

I’m still studying for my master program at the moment. What’s next? Of course I’m looking for a job, later. So this is what I mean by the process that we have to deal with. Sometimes I wonder that it’s a lot easier being a kid (except the homework and the exams hahaha). As a kid, we don’t have to think about hard things, think about how hard life is, think about what a mature man should think about. Like me, I still can’t imagine I’m working at the office, I’ll have less time to go chill out with my friends. And then I have to think about my relationship, think about marriage, think about having family, and so on and so on and so on… bla bla bla bla…

Then I go back to what can chill me down. Having the best around to make through the phase of life is the best thing that I wish for.

 

In the end,

Thank you for all the birthday greetings 🙂

Anyway, in my 22 years old phase, it felt so good to get surprise from two of best persons that I have. Many thanks to @_ayy_ and @ardhityatama for being there, at my (used to be likely not my favorite) birthday, 13th Jan 2012.

   

  There is another quote from Dixie Chicks titled ‘Landslide’, and I sang the song, night at the karaoke with ayu and benino. 🙂

“Oh, mirror in the sky, what is love?
Can the child within my heart rise above?
Can I sail through the changing ocean tides?
Can I handle the seasons of my life?”

“Well, I’ve been afraid of changin’
‘Cause I’ve built my life around you
But time makes bolder, children get older
I’m getting older too, well, I’m getting older too”

                                         

 

3 thoughts on “The New Beginning, The New Stage of Life

Leave a Reply

