It’s a tough world. How it could be beautiful?

Talking about life (again). This post is inspired because I have a little nephew, a toddler, and I live at my brother’s house currently.

Maybe I have a different point of view when I’m staring at my nephew, his name is Nanta by the way.  I used to dislike children since I was a boy and teenager, then it’s changed after my nephew was born. Actually it was about one year ago. It’s really peaceful to see a little baby. Yeah, that’s the word I’d pick to describe at that time. Peaceful.

As the parents, my brother and his wife obviously expect for their son to have a very tremendously pleasant and happy life. I expect for that too. But I’m having a twist at my own thought.

I feel poor for him, my nephew. I feel, I don’t know, worry? Maybe.

Yeah, maybe, well it is, the first time, my first experience having a baby in my family. Uh, how life travels so fast.

As my nephew grows, and he is one year old at the moment, I’m excited seeing his growth and development and at the same time, I feel bad. Why? Why should I? Yeah, as usual, my complexity of thoughts just plays its role.

For me, this life is a tough world. My father once said, “Don’t expect this life to be easy. Struggle. It will be beautiful in the end. Just don’t expect that will be easy. If you can’t overcome your problem, or you don’t want to face problem in life, then, why should you live for?”

Practically, that’s why I feel bad for my little nephew. He’s a toddler now. He will face this crazy world as his life goes on. He’ll enter school, he will meet hell for the exams, the bullying, and etc. Hahahaha. And then he’ll enter the university, and it’s not easy. As he grows, he’ll learn that lot of sucks things on his road of life. Bad politics. How the government run the country poorly. He’ll listen to lot of trash songs in this very suck music industry. He’ll watch so many suck movies in television. Someday he’ll feel broken heart. Someday he’ll feel disappointed for lot of things. Someday he’ll lose lot of things, lose friends, lose someone he loves. Oh God.

Heck yeah that is the point of view of a pessimist. 

I don’t know who, but I often hear this quote:

“There will always be sunshine after the rain”

Well, it won’t happen if it’s at night. Haha. What I’m trying to say is, how bad or how good this life is depends on how we see it, depends on the way we through it. We decide.

I also have one good quote, I got it from Willy Wonka and The Chocolate Factory soundtrack, performed by Gene Wilder. The song is called ‘Pure Imagination’. It says,

If you want to view paradise
Simply look around and view it

This life is beautiful, if you want to see it as a beautiful one. For me, personally, what makes life beautiful? Love. Cliche? But everything’s  in the circle of it. As long as we have love, we are loved, that would be nice. Another thing is about how we live this life. It’s all about balancing what you deal with. Work hard. Play hard. Live this life happily. Have fun. And still, be kind and generous. And humanly.

For my nephew’s case. He’ll face this beautiful world as his life goes on. He’ll enter school, which is a fun place to study, to make friends, he’ll also make tons of achievements in class. Then he’ll enter the university, he’ll enter one of the tops. As he grows, he’ll learn that so many beautiful things along the way, this life is fun. Bad politics? Forget it. This country will get better, this country should. He’ll listen to lot of wonderful and exciting music in his very own way. He’ll watch lot of awesome movies as he choose for. Someday he’ll fall in love. Someday he’ll feel grateful for lot of things. Someday he’ll learn lot of things, how precious and beautiful friendship is, finds someone he loves, and feel loved.

There is a beautiful song that describes my post. It’s from Switchfoot, the song title is ‘Dare You to Move’.

Welcome to the planet
Welcome to existence
Everyone’s here
Everyone’s here
Everybody’s watching you now
Everybody waits for you now
What happens next
What happens next

I dare you to move
I dare you to move
I dare you to lift yourself up off the floor
I dare you to move
I dare you to move
Like today never happened
Today never happened before

Welcome to the fallout
Welcome to resistance
The tension is here
Tension is here
Between who you are and who you could be
Between how it is and how it should be

Maybe redemption has stories to tell
Maybe forgiveness is right where you fell
Where can you run to escape from yourself?
Where you gonna go?
Where you gonna go?
Salvation is here

I dare you to move
I dare you to move
I dare you to lift yourself up off the floor
I dare you to move
I dare you to move
Like today never happened
Today never happened
Today never happened
Today never happened before

For my dearest nephew, I Gde Eka Prakashananta,

I love you, boy. This life is beautiful, if you want to see it as a beautiful life.

You are loved. Your parents love you. Your grandparents love you. Your family loves you. We all love you.

4 thoughts on “It’s a tough world. How it could be beautiful?

  1. hahaha..someday i will force him to listen what i used to hear, sigur ros, jonsi, mogwai, radiohead, mew, copeland..i will force him be a guitarist like me, i will teach him the way i drive a car hahahaha…life is better when you’re a little bit naughty but in a good way…

Leave a Reply

