Unconscious Thinker

Are you a dreamer?

No, not a metaphoric one. This is not about an ambition dream, about something you really want badly.

So here comes the question again… Are you a dreamer?

Literally, yes. Yes. I’m a dreamer. I dream almost every single night. No, I dream almost every single sleep.

What is a dream? Here’s the definition that I took from wikipedia:

Dreams are successions of images, ideas, emotions, and sensations that occur involuntarily in the mind during certain stages of sleep.

Dreams have been seen as a connection to the unconscious. They range from normal and ordinary to overly surreal and bizarre.

And here is the theoretical science explanation about dreaming:

Dreams mainly occur in the rapid-eye movement (REM) stage of sleep—when brain activity is high and resembles that of being awake. REM sleep is revealed by continuous movements of the eyes during sleep. At times, dreams may occur during other stages of sleep. However, these dreams tend to be much less vivid or memorable. Dreams can last for a few seconds, or as long as twenty minutes. People are more likely to remember the dream if they are awakened during the REM phase. (wikipedia.org)

Oh God…

From the explanation above, I try to suit it to myself. Then it occurred that my brain activity  has very high level of work and still actives even in almost every single night, in almost every single sleep. Extremely, I never really rest.

What about memorizing what I’ve dreamed? I’m one of the good at that. I can tell someone what I’ve dreamed fluently like I’m telling a tale. Another interesting one is, I often dreaming about absurd things. Literally absurd. I had dream about me playing with cartoon characters. I had dream about me fighting monsters with superheroes. I had dream chased by ghosts. I had dream hanging out with celebrities, even hollywood one. Freak.

But I also dream normally, I mean, in normal themes. I can’t plan my dream, obviously. What this is all about? For me, sometimes, dream is the result of subconscious work.

I try to think it a bit deeper.

Some people say that dream is the result of something that you really think so badly and it comes up in your dream. It can be something you really happy with, something you really sad about, something you really hope, or something you really fear. Is it true? Is it illusive? For both of them, it could be. I don’t know. Not always.

I know myself as a complex thinker. My brain works undiscovered. I’m one of the unconscious thinker.

I don’t know whether this is a good or bad thing. Sometimes it’s funny. Sometimes it’s disturbing. Literally.

“Oh as the light goes out, thoughts turn to angels on the run
Oh as the night comes in, dreams start their drifting and you hear a lullaby” ~ One Republic (Lullaby)

Dreams. Sometimes it’s terrifying. Sometimes it just felt so real. So damn real.

“Up with your turret, aren’t we just terrified?
Shale, screen your worry from what you won’t ever find.
Don’t let it fool you. Don’t let it fool you…down” ~ Bon Iver and St. Vincent (Roslyin)

Leave a Reply

