Life Note #050714

Sometimes you have to give up on people. Not because you don’t care, but because they don’t.

I saw this anonymous quote somewhere on social media. Surprisingly, a lot of people that I know posted this. Well, it’s not that me being a snob, but do they really feel that way? Which means some of us (or most of us?) are disappointed since they don’t get the attention they think they deserve.

Maybe it’s silly , or childish, but somehow, sometimes, we just can’t resist to demand something from those we expect to care. Well, the truth sometimes doesn’t turn that way. Maybe we should remember, the higher your expectation, the more you’ll get hurt if you fall. Not in intention to drown the  concept of dreaming high, but in some cases we just have to remember to stay closer to the ground.

Suddenly I remember my conversation with my friend last Saturday.  I played Coldplay’s latest album, Ghost Stories, in the car. When it came to the last track of the album, he popped out the question.

Flock of birds
Hovering above
Just a flock of birds
It’s how you think of love

And I always
Look up to the sky
Pray before the dawn
‘Cause they fly always
Sometimes they arrive
Sometimes they are gone
They fly on

Flock of birds
Hovering above
Into smoke I’m turned
And rise following them up

Still I always
Look up to the sky
Pray before the dawn
‘Cause they fly away
One minute they arrive,
Next you know they’re gone
They fly on
Fly on

So fly on
Ride through
Maybe one day I’ll fly next to you
Fly on, ride through
Maybe one day I can fly with you

Fly on

image

“What is the actual meaning of this ‘ O ‘ song? I listened to this many times but I still don’t get it”

“The meaning? The translation, or the message?”

“Why birds? Why do they fly on? Why is he praying?”

“Hmmm… I get it. Well, buddy. I don’t really know the actual meaning of the song, if that is your question. But if you ask my personal interpretation of the song, to be honest, I really relate to the song, like, yeah, I do understand how it feels.”

“So, what is exactly the sad atmosphere that this song brings about? I need further explanation then.”

“You know, in this life, we meet a lot of people. Hell, a lot of people. However, people come and go. We just can’t refuse the fact that everyone has their own destination. We just can’t expect that everyone will stay with us, as we want to. Though it’s sure looks fun and dreamy, but still, people come and go. Hence, they lyric says about those flock of birds that come and go.

And no matter how hard it is, we should learn to let go and support whatever decision that they choose for their life. We all have our own dreams, right? Hence, the lyric says ‘fly on’.

Despite of the sad concept of being apart, there are some persons that I want to keep around in my life. They are the ones that I still want to keep in touch with, just because they mean more to me. I just can’t maintain the relation with a lot of people, but I still want to try to give more effort to one or two, or more, for the sake of being thankful to those who have played important role in the process of my life. Hence, the lyric says ‘maybe one day I’ll fly next to you’.”

“I see the analogy… Then it means, we’re also part of the birds that fly to our own destination.”

“Right…

We are the birds that have our own wings to fly to reach our own destination.”

image

As time goes by, it will be like an elimination stages. It will be hard to keep up with everyone. Personally, I have to admit that I’m not the type who is good in maintaining relationship with a lot of people.

In the end, we’ll realize that there are those persons that will always stick with you no matter how hard the wind blows, no matter how hard the thunder strikes, …

…. there will be those persons that still flying next to you.

image

PS: The less people you chill with, the less bullshit you deal with 😋

Leave a Reply

